Hot Poppin' Culture News From New York City

Taylor Swift, Kid Cudi Hunger Games Tracks Leak (Listen!)

Heidelberg Conundrum Barnes Noble

Taylor Swift, Kid Cudi Hunger Games Tracks Leak (Listen!) 1Taylor Swift’s second song off “The Hunger Games” soundtrack has leaked and gone viral on the Internet. Called “Eyes Open,” it’s a driving rock-influenced pop song with full instrumentation.

Swift released “Safe & Sound,” the first official song off the soundtrack in December. It’s a country-inflected ballad with accompaniment by country band The Civil Wars.

She followed up on Valentine’s Day in February with the release of a video based on the song. In the video, Swift walks through woods and meadows while the haunting single plays.

The Hunger Games’ Track List

1. Taylor Swift: (Civil Wars), ‘Safe & Sound”
2. Taylor Swift: “Eyes Wide Open”
3. Arcade Fire: “Abraham’s Daughter”
4. Kid Cudi: “The Ruler & The Killer”
5. Miranda Lambert: (Feat. Pistol Annies), “Run Daddy Run”
6. The Civil Wars: “Kingdom Come”
7. The Decemberists: “One Engine”
8. Glen Hansard: “Take the Heartland”
9. The Low Anthem: “Lover Is Childlike”
10. Punch Brothers: “Dark Days”
11. Secret Sisters: “Tomorrow Will Be Kinder”
12. Birdy: “Just a Game”
13. Ella Mae Bowen: “Oh Come & Sing”
14. Jayme Dee: “Rules”
15. Carolina Chocolate Drops: “Reaping Day”
16. Neko Case: “Give Me Something I’ll Remember”

The movie, based on a series of novels by Suzanne Collins, is about a life and death struggle staged like a game show. It unfolds in a strange post-apocalyptic land that was once the United States.

The Civil Wars, composed of singer-songwriters Joy Williams and John Paul White, released their debut album, Barton Hollow, last year. The duo won 2012 Grammy Awards for Best Country Duo/Group Performance and Best Folk Album.

A third song from the soundtrack, Kid Cudi’s “The Ruler & The Killer” also went viral today. A driving drum beat opens the song, while Cudi chants and moans creating an equally haunting effect. After all, the movie is pretty fatalistic.

Kid Cudi reps for hip-hop on the soundtrack. Indie rockers Arcade Fire and country star Miranda Lambert also contribute tunes. Neko Case, Grammy-nominated The Decemberists, and Academy Award winner Glen Hansard of the Swell Season also contribute.

Check out the songs below:

Subscribe To TheImproper's Email Newsletters, Free!