Latest Film & TV News

Will SAG Awards Preview Likely Oscar Winners?

sag-awardsThe 16th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards will unfold an eco-themed show tonight (Jan. 23) with lots of stars, a green carpet and possibly some insights into the upcoming Oscar winners.

The show will air live on TBS at 8 p.m. (ET/PT), 7 p.m. (CT), 6 p.m. (MT). An encore presentation will air on TNT at 11 p.m. (ET/PT).

For satellite and HD viewers, the live presentation can be seen on TBS and TNT at 8 p.m. (ET)/5 p.m. (PT), while the encore can be seen on TNT at 11 p.m. (ET)/8 p.m. (PT).

The actors union will present 13 awards during the two-hour dinner-party ceremony: Eight in television, five in film and a lifetime achievement award to 88-year-old Betty White.

Among all of the pre-Oscar shows, the SAG awards has the best reputation for presaging Oscar winners. But the show also likes to consider itself different from other film groups. Some of its nominations depart sharply from the Golden Globes and Broadcaster’s Critics Awards.

Only members of the Guild are eligible to vote, and since about 1,300 Guild members also are members of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences, the awards have been a good barometer of likely Oscar winners.

The Academy, which has about 5,800 voting members, will air its awards show March 7.

A full contingent of Hollywood superstars, from George Clooney, to Oscar favorite Sandra Bullock are expected to arrive in hybrid limos at LA’s renowned Shrine Auditorium and walk the green carpet.

SAG’s ensemble prize, the equivalent of a best picture awardm pits “Inglorious Basterds,” “The Hurt Locker” and “An Education” against “Nine” and “Precious.” But neither Golden Globe winner “Avatar” nor “Up in the Air” two Oscar favorites, were nominated.

“Nine,” the Weinstein Co. musical, was shut out of best picture nominations at the Globes and Critic’s Awards and did poorly at the box office. “An Education” was also widely ignored and fared poorly at the box office.

Sag’s 2008 winner “Slumdog Millionaire” and 2007s’ “No Country for Old Men” went on to win best movie Oscars. In all, however, the SAG has only picked half of the winners over the past 15 years, although it called two stunning Oscar upsets: 1998’s “Shakespeare in Love,” and “Crash” in 2005.

Gabourey Sidibe and Mo’Nique, Basterds’ Christoph Waltz and Diane Kruger and Nine’s Penelope Cruz are up for supporting awards.

“Up in the Air” collected nominations for star George Clooney and supporting actresses Vera Farmiga and Anna Kendrick.

Showtime’s “Dexter,” NBC’s “30 Rock” and “The Closer” are vying for top TV honors. “Dexter” and “The Closer” are up for best performance by a cast in a drama series, along with “Mad Men,” “The Good Wife” and “True Blood.”

Michael C. Hall, who plays Dexter, is nominated for best actor. “The Closer’s” Kyra Sedgwick is also up for best actress.

“30 Rock” collected nominations for its cast and stars Tina Fey and Alec Baldwin. Other comedies nominees include “Curb Your Enthusiasm,” “Modern Family,” “Glee” and “The Office.”

SAG is partnering for a second year in a row with the Environmental Media Association to make the star-studded awards show an earth-friendly endeavor.

“It will be a fun — and environmentally low-impact — event,” says Taylor Grant, an environmental consultant at EMA. “SAG already had a strong green policy in place. Now it’s doing its best to reduce any environmental impact it has with this year’s show.”

Everything that’s left “from the flowers to leftover food, will be donated or composted,” says Grant.

If they drapes, floors, couches and chairs look familiar that’s because they are being recycled from previous shows.

Subscribe To TheImproper's Email Newsletters, Free!